We have a “Firefighter of the Year” as well as a “President’s Award”.

Once a member every so often you get recognized. For instance, if you have 5 years of consecutive service in the fire company, you get a plaque. At 10 years, you receive a customized Ben Avon VFC ring.

In the history of the Ben Avon VFC, there have been 7 members that have received the Medal of Valor. The members that have received this prestigious award have been: Sam Diana (1985), Robert Nuttall (1998), Bob Conway (1998), Steve Kosak (1998), Dale Regrut, Doug Silk (1998), and Chuck Berie (1998). In case you aren’t familiar with the Medal of Valor, it is the Medal of Honor of the fire service.